Contact Us

The State
701 Gervais Street, STE 150 PMB 117
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 771-6161

General telephone inquiries
Customer Service: 1-800-888-3566
Main Switchboard: 1.800.888.5353

General office hours
Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Submit a letter to the editor
Submit a news tip
Place a classified ad
Subscription Self-Service


Administration

Title Name | Email
President and Editor Brian Tolley | btolley@thestate.com
General Accounting Manager Andrae Houghlan | ahoughlan@thestate.com

Advertising

Title Name | Email
Legal Notices statelegalads@thestate.com
GoColumbia/Carolina Bride Michelle Long | mlong@thestate.com
Ad inserts/coupons Mary Karl Boepple | mkboepple@thestate.com
Classified Advertising stateclassified@thestate.com | columbiathestate.adperfect.com
Obituaries stateobits@thestate.com | Obituary pricing & guidelines
Advertising payment by phone
Social announcements (weddings, engagements, anniversaries, etc.) thestate.com/social | social@thestate.com

Customer Service

Title Name | Email
Customer Service customerservice@thestate.com
Logistics and Locar Retail Coordinator Richard Curtis | rcurtis@thestate.com
Subscriptions/Billing customerservice@thestate.com

Newsroom

Title Name | Email | Twitter
President & Editor Brian Tolley | btolley@thestate.com | @tolleybri
Senior Editor of Politics
Jamie Self | jself@thestate.com | @jamiemself
Senior Editor of News Paul Osmundson | posmundson@thestate.com | @posmundson
Investigations editor Gina Smith | gsmith@thestate.com | @GinaNSmith
Senior Editor of Sports Dwayne McLemore | dmclemore@thestate.com | @dwayne_mclemore
Southeast Editor of Audience Growth and Retention Cal Lundmark | clundmark@thestate.com | @calundmark
Southeast Audience Engagement Specialist Nikki Naik | nnaik@thestate.com | @nrnaik20
Southeast Audience Growth Producer Caroline Watkins | cwatkins@thestate.com
State Editor/Reporter Sarah Ellis | sellis@thestate.com | @ellissk04
General Newsroom online@thestate.com

News department reporters

Title Name | Email | Twitter
Lexington County Bristow Marchant | bmarchant@thestate.com | @BristowatHome
USC Lucas Daprile | ldaprile@thestate.com | @LucasDaprile
Breaking news Noah Feit |nfeit@thestate.com | @NoahFeit
Breaking news Travis Bland| tbland@thestate.com | @dtravisbland
Environment Sammy Fretwell | sfretwell@thestate.com | @sfretwell83
Courts
John Monk | jmonk@thestate.com | @jmonkatthestate
State government Emily Bohatch | ebohatch@thestate.com | @emilybohatch
State government Maayan Schechter | mschechter@thestate.com | @MaayanSchechter
Local news and features Sarah Ellis | sellis@thestate.com | @ellissk04
Investigations Andrew Caplan | acaplan@thestate.com | @AACaplan
Charleston Caitlin Byrd | cbyrd@thestate.com
Myrtle Beach Tourism Chase Karakostas | ckaracostas@thesunnews.com
Investigations Chiara Eisner | ceisner@thestate.com
City of Columbia Chris Trainor | chtrainor@thestate.com
State government Christina Myers | cmyers@thestate.com
Business Laurryn Salem | lsalem@thestate.com
Greenville Lyn Riddle | lyriddle@thestate.com
Housing & Development Rebecca Liebson | rliebson@thestate.com
State government Zak Koeske | zkoeske@thestate.com

Opinion/Editorial

Title Name | Email
Letters to the Editor Submit letters here

Sports

Title Name | Email | Twitter
Sports Reporter Matt Connolly | mconnolly@thestate.com | @MattatTheState
Prep Sports Coordinator Lewis Bezjak | lbezjak@thestate.com | LouatTheState
Sports Reporter Greg Hadley | ghadley@thestate.com | @GregHadley9
Sports Reporter Michael Lananna | mlananna@thestate.com

Photo & Video

Title Name | Email
Main Department General inquiries | photodesk@thestate.com
Visual Journalist Tracy Glantz | tglantz@thestate.com | @StatephotoTracy
Visual Journalist Josh Boucher | jboucher@thestate.com
Copyright Privacy Policy Do Not Sell My Personal Information Terms of Service